14
Sep
12

Social Media Slam

Lately my life is so busy that watching TV is a luxury.  Every once in awhile between MLIT homework, sporting events, and teacher work, I squeeze in an episode or two of some of my favorite shows.  This past weekend I caught up with America’s Next Top Model (ANTM).  Last year the show’s ratings had taken a dip and CW told Tyra Banks she had to change things up.  Out went Mr. Jay and Miss Jay, along with hottie Nigel Barker.  In came a younger, hottie model judge with an accent, who my daughter swears is dating Tyra. (If so, good for her!)  The show also decided to change up the judging and scoring.  All three judges award points to the contestants each week.  However, this season, a fourth, social media fan score is added in.

I have now watched three episodes and do not care for the social media element.  While they reveal the social media scores, the show displays written comments that were posted as well as video clips fans have uploaded, sharing their opinions personally.  Are you wondering why I have an issue?  Isn’t the world getting more and more techie?  It’s what everyone is doing, right?  Well, having teenagers with phones and facebook accounts, we have had several conversations in our house about remembering the audience.

The fans of ANTM have forgotten the audience.  They feel that they have been given the right to say anything about these girls, no holds barred.  I was shocked by some of the crass, heartless comments made. There really is no recourse for these fans, so kindness and politeness have gone by the wayside.  It almost seems like it could be viewed as encouraged bullying.

I may not continue to watch this season.  This piece and the changes in the judges have changed the feel of the show.  Perhaps I will watch  a few more episodes before making a final decision, or perhaps I will visit the Facebook site for the show and post some kind words for the girls who the public has deemed less than worthy.

3 Responses to “Social Media Slam”


  1. September 17, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    Oh Suz, this is the fist time I’ve visited your blog, and I must say that I think your layout looks very professional. 🙂 I don’t think people outside of the judges should have any say. Of course that is just my opinion, but as you said, people can be so heartless, especially if their identity is hidden behind a digital screen and only their words are coming through. My friend recently had a terrible experience with going to a social media site for brides. She posted some ideas for her bridal shower/bachelorette party, and the other girls on the site were so nasty to her. They were saying how horrible those ideas were and she probably had to pay her bridal party to come because who would want to do all of those things (my friend’s ideas). Needless to say , my friend withdrew herself from the site. I don’t watch ANTM that often, but I am curious to see how the fan comments play a part in the show.

  2. September 19, 2012 at 1:27 am

    Suz, You bring up a good point about the fans’ comments being like bullying if not outright bullying. It’s too bad that Tyra doesn’t use these unkind comments as a great “teaching moment” to educate her audience in the etiquette of social media and in how to be kind. Her audicence is young impressionable women; they need this message. I thought Tyra promoted a healthy outlook and a good sense of self and self-esteem on her Tyra show, too bad it isn’t carried over into ANTM.

  3. 3 theparalyzer
    October 4, 2012 at 10:28 am

    I think rude comments to gain ratings are obnoxious. I think you should leave positive Facebook comments. Some people can be rude–with a capital R!


Leave a Reply

