27
Aug
12

The Tribe Has Spoken

I would like to thank Megan from MLIT for inspiring this post.  During our “10 Things to Know About” assignment in our new class, I shared with Megan the fact that I have never missed a season of Survivor.  She was quite surprised. There have been 20 seasons and my husband and I have not missed one!  We have also never missed a season of The Amazing Race.  If I ever get brave enough, The Amazing Race is the show I would most likely audition for.  I am waiting for my niece to turn 21.  My husband would love to audition, but he gets carsick, airsick, and has food allergies, so we are thinking this might not be the adventure for him. 🙂

I freely admit that I am a reality TV nut!  I love, love, love reality TV.  I am usually willing to give any reality show a go, but that does not mean that I will continue to watch it.  Some just don’t make the priority list in the little time I have to watch TV.  Others have a very high priority and, thanks to DVR’s, are faithfully viewed.

Here is a list of my favorites, plus a few that I gave a chance, but chose to pass on.

Must See’s:

  1. Survivor
  2. The Amazing Race
  3. Project Runway
  4. Hell’s Kitchen (Would love to eat here.)
  5. Chopped
  6. America’s Got Talent
  7. So You Think You Can Dance
  8. America’s Next Top Model
  9. Biggest Loser
  10. Worst Cooks In America (This show made me realize that anyone can cook!)
  11. Dance Moms (How she stays in business I do not know.)

I tried and passed on:

  1. Jersey Shore
  2. Big Brother
  3. Here Comes Honey Boo Boo (My daughter made me try it.)
  4. Toddlers and Tiaras
  5. Beverly Hills Nannies
  6. The Great Escape

Let me know if there are any reality TV shows that I need to give a try.  And I will keep you posted on the upcoming season of Survivor.  It starts in September.  The Tribe has spoken!

7 Responses to “The Tribe Has Spoken”


  1. August 27, 2012 at 1:40 am

    I am a reality TV junkie, too! I have watched many, but not all, seasons of Survivor and Amazing Race. Unlike you though, I think my taste may be a little trashier….I do watch The Bachelor Pad and LOVE Big Brother!

  2. 2 Doug
    August 27, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Geez. I sound like a fragile wimp. The truth hurts I guess.

    I hear the new season of Survivor will have many of the people who were medically evacuated in previous seasons. Like Michael the guy who fell in the fire and the snarky Colton from last season.

    As a dose of celebrity – Blair from the old Facts of Life TV show will be a contestant.

  3. August 30, 2012 at 3:15 am

    I love TV also! I like different types of TV shows-game shows, reality, drama, comedy! I liked how you had the shows you tried but passed on! HAHA Have you seen any of the Bravo reality shows? Those are my favorite! 🙂

  4. September 1, 2012 at 12:07 am

    Wow… it’s amazing that you have watched survivor for all these years… you are definitely a fan! I remember watching the very first few seasons (wonder how all those people are doing now?). Yes, DVR really helps (yeah technology). I wish I could say I watched some fun shows to share, but it’s pretty busy here and once all are in bed, my work is finished and I go to bed too (no t.v. for me!). My boys and husband enjoy “Deadliest Catch” and “Storage Wars” so I do get a glance at them. They are kind of like real life soap operas! Thanks for sharing!

  5. September 1, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    Should I admit that I have never watched reality TV? I listen to all of the people like you who find it so entertaining, and I wonder why I just can’t get into it. Maybe now that I am retired and I am not grading papers all night long. . .

  6. 6 Angie Gulliford
    September 2, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    I am not a big TV watcher, but became an absolute Top Chef addict. Everyone in my family knew not to come near me or the TV on Wednesday nights when it was on. I did not watch the last season because I didn’t like the fact that professional chefs were competeing against each other. I thought it was so much better when it was a bunch of aspiring chefs, working in kitchens as sous chefs or in their own small restaraunt kitchens,

    I like America’s Next Top model too. I never realized how hard those girls work.
    Hell’s Kitchen is not for me. I can’t stand all the yelling and disrespect.

    I agree with you about Toddlers and Tiara’s. That whole show scares me. What is wrong with those parents????

    • September 6, 2012 at 1:45 am

      Angie – If you really want to see a reality TV show that you can’t fake, you should watch Project Runway. The people on this show amaze me. They brainstorm, draw/design, and sew outfits within 24 hours. If you don’t have the sewing skills and the know-how — you are gone. You also have to know how to complete the style of the model with hair, make-up, and accessories. As a person who used to have time to sew, these designers have my respect!


Leave a Reply

