13
Aug
12

A Bomb, Lots of Boxes, and a Bat

I feel like I have not blogged forever and I have utmost respect for those out there who post everyday.  Right now I am just trying to keep up with life.
Before I do my review (yes, there is one coming), I need to update all my MLIT friends and my family on the happy chaos that has occurred recently.

First, my oldest son was released by the doctor (from the stress fracture in his spine) to participate in his high school soccer tryouts.  These were last Wednesday thru Friday.  His dad and I were nervous wrecks as he is a goalkeeper and knew this would be a true test of the healing process.  His muscles are feeling the lack of exercise all summer, but he almost made me cry when he said, “Mom, it feels so good to be back in the net!”  We think he wasn’t counting on being able to play due to his back, and was relieved when his back and body held up.
Second, my daughter had her first-ever high school tryouts for volleyball. The girls were told up front that there would be cuts.  She was so nervous, but she made the freshman team and is a happy camper.

Next to the big news.  Last Thursday I found out that my position for this school year will be changing.  I will be in ONE classroom teaching kindergarten in the morning and KED in the afternoon.  I am so excited and extremely (but happily) stressed.  This is what my room looked like after I took all my belongings out of my reading room and added them to my already full KED room.  It looked like a bomb had gone off and there were boxes everywhere.

I have spent this entire weekend trying to sort  store the items for two classrooms into one.  It has been a little crazy, but my dear mom came into help me both days.  My youngest son took down all the bulletin boards for me in my reading room – he even removed all the staples.  I still have a lot of work to do and homework for Monday the 20th (my reluctant reader homework), but I am so happy to be back in Kindergarten full-time.  My co-worker and I are looking forward to planning together!

Finally to the review, my husband and I have now been happily married for 20 years.  A week ago we went to dinner to celebrate at Wildfire (so yummy) and then to a movie.  We decided to go see …


I love all the Batman movie series, but have not made up my mind about who is the best Batman and which series I like the best.  My husband and I were a little daunted by the running time of this movie (2 hours, 45 minutes), but with our bellies full and our evening out still young, we settled in.  This movie was entertaining and action packed; however, I must say that I found it quite violent – in almost a sadistic way.  The villain, Bane, seemed to find great pleasure in breaking necks, choking people to death, and beating the snot out of Batman.  This movie is darker than the first two in this series, and I am wondering how close it came to receiving an R rating.  Christian Bale was great again, but I almost laugh each time he talks as Batman – his fake, deep voice is comical.  My favorite character is Alfred, played by Michael Caine.  He creates such an emotional connection with his role in the movie.

With my happy chaos, I am not sure when my husband and I will be able to arrange another date night, but there are some good movies coming out.  I would love to go see…

8 Responses to “A Bomb, Lots of Boxes, and a Bat”


  1. 1 theparalyzer
    August 14, 2012 at 9:58 am

    I am always amazed at how resilient teachers are. You, like so many teachers, have just found out that your job description is changing–right before school starts, I sort of envy you the excitement of setting up your room for new activities. I miss the days when my daughter helped me set up my room, and I helped her set up hers.

    I am so excited for you to have both of these kindergarten classes. Good luck!

    P.S.–I plan to see the Timothy Green movie, so I will be interested in your take on it.

  2. August 15, 2012 at 4:45 am

    Wow Suz I loved all these updates! So good to know about all these great things happening in your life! Good luck getting the room organized and ready! I moved rooms this year so I was in a similar “bomb zone” state today 🙂

  3. August 20, 2012 at 12:36 am

    Wow… you had a lot of news to share. I am so happy to hear about your son’s recovery and that he is playing soccer again. I am also thrilled for your daughter. As far as your new position… yahoo! This is great news (despite the moving factor). I can relate to a bombshell of a room, but , somehow, we always manage to prepare the room in time for our students, right? Thank you for the review of the Batman movie. My oldest son wants to see it so your review helps!

    • August 20, 2012 at 2:06 am

      My youngest is 12 and I would still let him see it. He has seen the other two. I would just prefer to watch it with him to help keep things in perspective.

  4. August 20, 2012 at 1:23 am

    I loved the Dark Knight Rises!! The ending was the BEST! I loved Anne Hathaway as Catwoman and I also laugh every time Christian Bale talks in his Batman voice. So glad to hear about all of the great things that are happening for you and your family!

  5. August 20, 2012 at 1:40 am

    The Timothy Green movie looks very interesting. When I first saw the trailers, I laughed out loud. The kid comes from the garden! WHAT?!?! But then, I almost cried by the end of the trailer. It looks very heart warming and cute. Your room looks very similar to mine…but it’ll get better. Right? 🙂 Enjoy back to school. See you soon in class!

    • August 20, 2012 at 2:02 am

      Hi Megan –

      Teachers do seem to have this magical power to make chaos all come together before the first day of school. Have you been able to wave your magic wand yet?


Leave a Reply

