08
Jul
12

Laughter is the best medicine!

My oldest son, Nolan, is in a back brace for the summer.  Overuse in high jump and pole vault have laid him low this summer.  He is allowed movies, TV, and books.  He can also do light activities such as frisbee, walking, and swimming now, but it is definitely not the summer envisioned by a 16-year-old boy.

My niece, Samantha, my daughter, Hannah, and I are trying to put together a comedy movie night for the family to get Nolan through this final stretch of summer.  I am a firm believer that laughter is the best medicine.  We are trying to come up with a list of our favorite comedies with the stipulation that the movies need to be for the age range of 12-years-old on up.  This has proved to be the tricky part.

So far this is our list:

Samantha – The Airplane Series                            Kyle – Dodgeball

For 18+ The Sitter

Suz (me) – Happy Gilmore, Meatballs               Hannah – House Bunny

For 18+ Stripes, Caddy Shack, Revenge of the Nerds, Police Academy

 

I would love to know others’ opinions as to what movies make them laugh the most.  All are welcome to contribute, no judgements passed!  Please just share!

 

 

11 Responses to “Laughter is the best medicine!”


  1. July 8, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    These are oldies but goodies – Oscar with Sylvester Stalone (the only comedy he made that I know of) and Baby’s Day Out (silly but funny). I can’t think of any others for now but I will let you know.

  2. July 8, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    I like how you invite others to share their movie suggestions! Great way to invite comments! Great idea! 🙂

  3. July 9, 2012 at 3:50 pm

    This might be a little too young for your kids, but we just watched Honey I Shrunk the Kids this past weekend. An oldie but a goodie! I still enjoyed it after all these years and so did Olivia!

  4. 7 Doug
    July 10, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    How about A Knight’s Tale, Christmas Vacation, Ferris Bueler’s Day Off, Naked Gun, Spaceballs?

  5. July 11, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    Suz, my husband and I absolutely LOVE the oldie, but goodie GOONIES! It is one of my favorites. We want our kids to see it, but we want to wait a little longer since they are only 8 & 5. The “Truffle Shuffle”, “Hey, you guys!!,” and many more quotes for a lifetime!
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0089218/

    • July 12, 2012 at 2:29 am

      Love that movie! I especially like the scene involving Chunk, Sloth, and the Baby Ruth. I agree with waiting before allowing your kids to watch it. We waited until around 10-years-old.

  6. July 21, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    Suz, what movie(s) did you all end up watching??


Leave a Reply

